SFIA – Helpful information

What is SFIA   

Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) is a globally recognised IT generic skills capability framework. Used throughout the world as a standard for IT professional’s capabilities by governments and organisation, with 7 levels of attainment and 121 skills allowing assessment of professional competencies.      

SFIA offers individuals and organisations a comprehensive guide to IT skills used in multiple IT disciplines. The 121 skills across 7 levels help HR understand what’s required from a job description. For example, if HR do not know what a Data Scientist does, the skills code DATS (Data Science) can help them understand the job role (see below). SFIA offers a level of responsibility which can easily be aligned to an organisation chart from entry job roles up to CIO (Chief Information Officer). SFIA can help decipher tech jargon in the HR world. 

SFIA 8 continues the evolution. It has been updated in response to many change requests from industry. Many of the existing skills have been updated and additional skills introduced but the key concepts and essential values of SFIA remain true, as they have done for over 20 years.

Check out our helpful videos on our tools and services:

Documents available for Version 8

Check out our article on how SFIA can help IT organisations.

If you are looking to add SFIA to your organisations skills management programme we offer a free consultation call with no obligation. Click here to make an enquiry